Russian Mastery 

Chamber Music Society
of Lincoln Center

March 14, 2019
7:30 PM

Russian music has told the story of its country and people like no other. The Prokofiev “Two Violin Sonata,” written in 1932, stands apart as an audaciously creative work from the period between the wars, while the remaining works on the program are glorious musical outpourings of the age of the tsars and the Russian Empire. Come hear CMS explore the turbulent historical landscape of Russia through its vastly expressive music.

Rachmaninov           Trio élégiaque in G minor for Piano, Violin and Cello
Tchaikovsky             Souvenir d’un lieu cher for Violin and Piano, Op. 42
Prokofiev                 Sonata in C major for Two Violins, Op. 56
Rachmaninov         Romance and Oriental Dance for Cello and Piano
Arensky                  Trio No. 1 in D minor for Piano, Violin and Cello, Op. 32

Wu Han, piano
Arnaud Sussmann, violin
Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin
Nicholas Canellakis, cello